Introductions…

Before I start writing actual historically themed posts I wanted to make an introduction to who I am, and what I’ve made so far.

My name is Jenny, and I’m a 20-something almost graduate in Fashion Technology. Most of my work, because of my degree, tends towards commercial, modern day fashion. However, my real interest is in historical garments and their construction, so this blog will be a means for me to express that interest.

13153488_10153754486493759_1083691875_n
The minimal silhouettes and the emphasis on the back that was fashionable in the 1930’s was an inspiration for this piece. Also thanks to my beautiful sister for modeling this collection.

Most of my work for uni has some historical basis, as thats a place I gain alot of inspiration from. My most recent completed collection was based on the black and white films of the 20’s and 30’s, interpreted for the modern retail brand Whistles.

13101376_10153754487343759_94189132_n
“Jabot” dresses were a trend in the 1920’s, creating a fashionable yet simple garment for the home sewer to create-here I re-imagined the shape into a simple silk top.

My time at uni will be over in a matter of weeks, and I have yet to photograph the current collection I’m working on. I’ll probably upload it, however modern sewing isn’t something I want to focus on with this blog.

IMG_6609
Wool suit, with swing coat and straight cut culottes, inspired by the minimal outerwear and the tentative experiments in everyday ladies trousers of the period.

With the end of uni I will hopefully have more time to devote to historical sewing, and with any luck I will be progressing to a masters in it after the summer. But for now this is a short introduction to me.

Jenny.

2 thoughts on “Introductions…

    1. Thank you so much! The pleats were a nightmare haha! I might do a sort of comparison post when I’ve photographed my new collection, as a sort of review for what I’ve learned the past year. Thank you so much for your interest!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

